New Business Computer for My Mother

So about a week ago my Mom bought a new computer for the business work because the old one she had been using for a while was starting to slow down. It had several problems with it, like the keys were sticking and the battery wasn't working anymore, so it would only work when it was plugged directly into the wall at all times. And when it boots up, it had to take about 15 minutes to load the sign-in screen.

She bought a new one on eBay, this one was priced around $1,200, which is probably the average price for this kind of computer (specs below) So yesterday it arrived, and I got to set it up. 

When I was setting it up, I know that my Mother wants a feature that dropbox has. When dropbox installs, you can choose two options 1: "Online Files (Recommended)" or 2: "Local Files." Local files mean that dropbox will integrate your dropbox into your files. For example, if you save a PDF, you choose which folder you would want to save. When you save the file to the dropbox folder, it uploads that file to the cloud and saves it onto your computer. Or you could choose the "Online," which is where you have to go to the website to view files and upload them there. Although when I was setting this up, it took about 4 hours for all of the files to sync with the laptop. While I was waiting for Dropbox to finish syncing, I installed the usual apps she uses, for example, Zoom, Camtasia, Microsoft Office 365, etc. So far, the laptop has not had many issues with running anything. 

Here are the specifications of her new HP Envy 2020 laptop:

  • Ryzen 5 4500U 
  • 32GB of RAM
  • 2 TB SSD

Comments

I'm so glad you knew what you were doing! The computer is a huge improvement (so it's not a Mac.... that's just fine!)

Add a comment