OctoPrint

A couple of weeks ago, I set up Octoprint on my Ender-3 3D printer. A while back, my brother Nicholas had set up Octoprint on his PrintrBot simple metal 3D printer. With the Octoprint software setup on a Raspberry Pi, I can control the printer from basically anywhere! It was pretty easy. I had followed along with a beneficial tutorial video (Here). It is pretty simple the way it works. It all runs on a raspberry pi. The Raspberry Pi is connected to the printer via USB, and it practically takes over the printer's control and sends all of the information like temperature, print length, etc. to the control web page. Several other things you can do with Octoprint is, you can upload .gcode files to the web page, and it will store it there like a cloud. For example, I could have a gcode file that let's say I wanted to print later on. So I could just upload it to the online control center, and then maybe when I'm leaving to go somewhere, and I forgot to start a print that I might need. I could just go to the Octoprint control center and click the "start printing" button. There is also another cool feature to Octoprint, which is where you can hook up a Raspberry Pi camera to the Raspberry Pi. Then you can watch your prints live when you are in the online webpage control center. This has been my first time interacting with a Raspberry Pi for a project, but I can see some other cool projects to do in the future!